The datasets behind How Much Do AI Labs Pay for Data
3 datasets, sourced page by page and read again on a timetable, most recently 2026-10-28.
| Dataset | Headline figure | Sources | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| What AI data buyers publish they pay | 6 of 22 buyers | 22 of read | 2026-10-28 |
| Who buys data for AI training, and how a seller gets paid | 18 organisations | 18 of read | 2026-10-28 |
| AI Data Licence Payment Tax | 19 to 24 % | 3 of 8 read | 2026-10-28 |
Where the figures come from
First comes the question and the list of pages worth reading. Then each page is fetched and the figure is captured in the source's own sentence, linked and dated.
Each candidate sentence passes through review, and any rejection carries a written reason. The median and range count one figure per source, one per breakdown where a source gives several. Sources without a figure are marked rather than guessed, and regular re-reads track what moves.
What AI data buyers publish they pay
6 of the 22 buyers of data for AI training on this board say on their own page what they pay, read 28 October 2026.
Says on its own page what it pays, by buyer: not stated 14 of 22, states a figure or range 6 of 22, the seller sets the rate 2 of 22 (22 buyers, read 28 October 2026).
Who buys data for AI training, and how a seller gets paid
18 organisations that buy data for AI training, what each takes and how it pays, quoted from their own pages, read 28 October 2026.
Kind of data it takes, by organisation: a company's own records 7 of 18, voice and audio recordings 3 of 18, photos and images 2 of 18, video footage 2 of 18, a website's pages 2 of 18, books 1 of 18, not stated 1 of 18 (18 organisations, read 28 October 2026).
AI Data Licence Payment Tax
The AI Data Licence Payment Tax carries 2 published figures read from 2 sources' own pages, from 19 to 24 percent, read 24 October 2026.
3 sources publish a figure and 5 publish none, out of 8 read in full on 24 October 2026.